You are here:Home>China Guide > Guide of Danba in Sichuan

Guide of Danba in Sichuan

Mia 2023-05-21

Introduction of Danba County

Danba County in western Sichuan Province, China, is renowned as one of the "most beautiful villages in China." Nestled in the Garze Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, it borders Xiaojin County in Aba Prefecture and is adjacent to Kangding County and Daofu County. Positioned between the majestic Himalayas and the picturesque western Sichuan plateau, Danba County offers stunning mountain ranges and captivating plateau landscapes. Covering an area of 5,649 square kilometers, the county is blessed with natural marvels such as mountains, lakes, and forests, along with a rich tapestry of Tibetan culture and vibrant folk customs. Local residents describe the scenery as awe-inspiring, with snow-capped peaks, lush forests, and sparkling lakes.


Danba County serves as a hub along the western Sichuan tourist route, strategically located near popular destinations like Wolong, Siguniangshan, and Gongga Mountain. The winding Yellow River has created the renowned Jiuqu Yellow River Scenic Area. The county also entices visitors with attractions like the enchanting "Valley of Beauties," culturally significant Jiaju Tibetan Village and Zhonglu Tibetan Village, historic Suopo, majestic Moerduo Mountain, and iconic Danba Diaolou. Preserving a rich heritage of traditional culture, art, and religious sites, Danba County offers a glimpse into the captivating world of dragon dancing, Tibetan opera, sky burial practices, and the distinctive Khampa script, all showcasing the county's unique cultural charm.


Best things to see in Danba

Pear Blossoms

Danba is part of an untouched, high-altitude region for cultivating snow pears. With vast orchards and ancient trees, it offers a magnificent sight. The pear blossoms can be enjoyed for approximately 30 days, reaching their peak beauty from mid-March to mid-April. The must-visit spots for admiring the blossoms include Jiaju Tibetan Village, Zhonglu Scenic Area, and Suopo Ancient Diaolou Cluster, among others.


Diaolou (Watch Towers)

Danba, renowned as the "Land of a Thousand Diaolou," is dotted with ancient watchtowers across the county. These well-preserved structures, with a history of over a thousand years, proudly grace the mountainous and valley landscapes. The diaolou exhibit diverse designs, featuring four-sided, six-sided, eight-sided, and even thirteen-sided architectures.


Tibetan Villages

Danba Tibetan Villages are renowned for their uniqueness among the Jiarong Tibetan villages, with Jiaju Tibetan Village and Zhonglu Tibetan Village standing out as particularly famous. These villages feature hundreds of houses seamlessly integrated into the natural surroundings, nestled among the mountains, exemplifying the concept of harmony between humans and nature.



When you venture into Dangling Peaks, you step into a fairy tale world where snow-capped mountains, shimmering lakes, and vibrant forests come together to create a mesmerizing spectacle. Majestic peaks, scattered lakes like a chessboard, serene flowing streams, and lush meadows resembling green carpets await you in this enchanting realm.


Moerduo Sacred Mountain

Moerduo Sacred Mountain in Danba County, Ganzi Prefecture, is one of the four sacred mountains in the Tibetan region, reaching a height of 5,105 meters. It proudly stands, embracing the breathtaking beauty of renowned mountains worldwide. From its summit, you can glimpse Mount Emei's golden peak to the east and the distant snowy peaks of the Hengduan Mountains to the west.

Transport to Danba

Transportation in Danba County is not very convenient due to its geographical features. Typically, travelers first take a flight to either Kangding Airport or Chengdu Shuangliu Airport, and then transfer to a long-distance bus to reach Danba. Kangding Airport is the closest airport to Danba, but it has limited flight options. Therefore, the recommended mode of transportation is to travel by bus.


There are five main tourist routes to access Danba County, with each route offering different attractions and scenery along the way.

Route 1 (365 kilometers): Chengdu - Dujiangyan - Yingshuixian - Wolong - Xiaojin County - Danba.

Route 2 (451 kilometers): Chengdu - Tianquan County - Luding County - Guzan Town (Wadan Road) - Danba.

Route 3 (443 kilometers): Chengdu - Baoxing County (Jiajin Mountain) - Dawei - Xiaojin County - Danba.

Route 4 (578 kilometers): Chengdu - Mianyang - Jiuzhaigou - Huanglong - Maerkang - Jinchuan - Danba.

Route 5 (579 kilometers): Chengdu - Tianquan County - Luding County - Kangding County - Xinduqiao - Danba. 


Danba-Chengdu-Danba Bus Service:

a. From Chengdu Cha Dian Zi Station, there are two bus departures to Danba at 6:30 and 7:30, and the travel time is approximately 9 hours.

b. For the return journey from Danba to Chengdu, there are two bus departures at 6:30 and 7:00.

Check more accurately bus information and book tickets in advance: China Bus Tickets Booking – enjoy bus journey with ETripChina

Get a quick answer from ETripChina team

Your Questions