You are here:Home>China Guide > Visa-free entry for foreign tour groups arriving by cruise ships

Visa-free entry for foreign tour groups arriving by cruise ships

Mia China Visa Policy 2024-06-06

Fully implement the visa-free entry policy for overseas cruise passengers.


On May 15, the National Immigration Administration announced, after consultation with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National Development and Reform Commission, the Ministry of Transport, the Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, and the General Administration of Customs, and with the approval of the State Council, that it will fully implement the visa-free entry policy for foreign tour groups arriving by cruise ships at all cruise ports along the Chinese coast.


Starting from May 15, foreign tour groups (of two or more people) arriving by cruise ships and organized by domestic travel agencies can enter China visa-free as a group at cruise ports in 13 cities: Tianjin, Dalian in Liaoning, Shanghai, Lianyungang in Jiangsu, Wenzhou and Zhoushan in Zhejiang, Xiamen in Fujian, Qingdao in Shandong, Guangzhou and Shenzhen in Guangdong, Beihai in Guangxi, and Haikou and Sanya in Hainan. These groups must continue to travel on the same cruise ship to the next port and then exit China on the same cruise. They can stay in China for up to 15 days and their activities are limited to coastal provinces (autonomous regions, municipalities) and Beijing.


Important notes about the policy

1. The visa-free entry/exit ports are in Tianjin, Shanghai, Dalian in Liaoning province, Lianyungang in Jiangsu province, Wenzhou and Zhoushan in Zhejiang province, Xiamen in Fujian province, Qingdao in Shandong province, Guangzhou and Shenzhen in Guangdong province, Haikou and Sanya in Hainan province, and Beihai in the Guangxi Zhuang autonomous region.

2. All members of each group should travel together on the same cruise ship to the next port until the vessel leaves China.

3. Visit areas are limited to coastal provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions, as well as Beijing.

4. Stay period is up to 15 days.


What to see in the portal cities and capital of China


1. Beijing: The Great Wall of China, The Forbidden City (Palace Museum), Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace, Hutongs, National Museum of China.

2. Tianjin: Five Great Avenues, Ancient Culture Street, Tianjin Eye, Porcelain House, Tianjin Italian Style Town, Nanshi Food Street, Tianjin Museum

3. Shanghai: The Bund, Oriental Pearl Tower, Yu Garden, Shanghai Museum, Nanjing Road

4. Dalian in Liaoning province: Xinghai Square, Tiger Beach Ocean Park, Dalian Forest Zoo, Bangchuidao Island, Zhongshan Square

5. Lianyungang in Jiangsu province: Huaguo Mountain, Lian Island, Yunv Peak, Sea View Avenue, Donglei Scenic Area

6. Wenzhou: Yandang Mountain, Jiangxin Island, Nanxi River, Wenzhou Wuma Street, Wenzhou Zhongshan Park

7. Zhoushan: Mount Putuo, Dongji Island

8. Xiamen in Fujian province: Gulangyu Island, Nanputuo Temple, Xiamen University, Zhongshan Road Pedestrian Street, Hulishan Fortress

9. Qingdao in Shandong province: Zhanqiao Pier, Badaguan Scenic Area, May Fourth Square, Qingdao Beer Museum, Laoshan Mountain

10. Guangzhou: Canton Tower, Yuexiu Park, Chen Clan Ancestral Hall, Shamian Island, Guangzhou Chimelong Tourist Resort

11. Shenzhen: Window of the World, Splendid China Folk Village, Shenzhen Safari Park, Dafen Oil Painting Village

12. Beihai: Beihai Silver Beach, Weizhou Island, Beihai Underwater World, Beihai Old Street


13. Haikou: Wugong Temple (Temple of the Five Lords), Haikou Volcanic Cluster Global Geopark, Holiday Beach, Hainan Museum, Qilou Old Street

14. Sanya: Yalong Bay, Dadonghai Beach, Wuzhizhou Island, Nanshan Cultural Tourism Zone, Tianya Haijiao (Ends of the Earth) Scenic Area


Get a quick answer from ETripChina team

Your Questions

Contact Us


online customer service

Mon-Fri 9:00-18:00

0086 773 5842555

Mon-Fri 9:00-18:00